Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting 'Dynamic' setting of variables in bash script Post 302893278 by Subbeh on Tuesday 18th of March 2014 09:52:12 AM
Old 03-18-2014
Try using eval:
Code:
eval p"$n"="$p"

It's not a very good practise to set variables like this though. A much better way is to set arrays:
Code:
$ a[1]=test
$ echo ${a[1]}
test

This User Gave Thanks to Subbeh For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

Setting up BIND with dynamic IP

I'm a UNIX newbie, so I know I'll be making foolish errors here... I'm trying to set up my Mac OS X 10.2 server to serve my domain name. I've got Apache running reasonably well , and I know Sendmail is up and running... Now, I seem to need to get BIND running for the domain name, and it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: caphector
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic variables within shell script

Hi Gurus, I have a requirement of writting the shell script where it should ask me two values FND_TOP=/d02/app/oracle/xxx/fnd/11.5.0 CDCRM_TOP=/d02/app/oracle/xxx/cdcrm/11.5.0 and then keep these values stored as variables for the execution of rest of the script. Because, I have to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: isingh786
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Setting global variables with BASH/Linux

I am using functions in a script and for some strange reason the EXPORT command doesnt seem to be making my variables global. Anyone got any ideas? I am using one function to pass some output top another using the pipe command, eg Function 1 | Function 2 Function 2 reads the value... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gregf
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Setting env variables using script