Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Delete duplicated fields in a line Post 302893022 by Gr4wk on Monday 17th of March 2014 01:27:03 AM
Old 03-17-2014
Good job SriniShoo.. your code working too.. can you explain please?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete spaces in between fields

I am new to unix and need some assistance. I have a file in the format below with about 15 fields per each record. I have 2 records displayed below. "1234","Andy ","Rich ","0001","123 Main Street ","Dallas " "2345","Andrew ","Richter ","0002","234 First Ave ... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: guiguy
12 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep and delete 2nd duplicated of txt... -part2

Hi, I find out one problem is...the main point is we must delete 2nd duplicated of word in txt file. For example apple orange pink green orange yellow orange red output should be: apple orange pink green yellow orange (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyv
16 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare multiple fields in file1 to file2 and print line and next line

Hello, I have two files that I need to compare and print out the line from file2 that has the first 6 fields matching the first 6 fields in file1. Complicating this are the following restrictions 1. file1 is only a few thousand lines at most and file2 is greater than 2 million 2. I need to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: gillesc_mac
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete duplicated characters in each line

I'm a biologist trying to analyse some data and I'll appreciate some help with the following problem. I have a column of characters which I'll like to delete the duplicated characters in each line and report only the unique one.No sorting should be done. E.g. The original data: GTG CTC CTC... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ivpz
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting