Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Rsync in progress, strange results Post 302892849 by DustinT on Friday 14th of March 2014 10:20:53 PM
Old 03-14-2014
Rsync in progress, strange results

Disclaimer, I've been a Linux admin for a while but don't frequently setup rsysnc jobs.

Here's the command I'm running on CentOS 5.5, rsync 2.6.8:
Code:
rsync -arvz --progress --compress-level=9 /src/ /dest/

/src has 1.5 TB of data, /dest/ is a new destination and started out empy. Oh ya, both /srv and /dest are cifs shares. I know that /src is off a Windows 2008 server and /dest I have no idea. The /src is a local file server connected via 1g ethernet and /dest is remote on the other end of a slow WAN link.

Here's the mount output:
Code:
//remotesf/dest on /dest type cifs (rw,mand)
//localfs/src on /src type cifs (rw,mand)

Here's the part that's got me scratching my head. This transfer has been running for a few hours and seems to be fine. I know it's gonna take a few days and I'm good with that. BUT, I'm watching transfer and as a file completes I'm doing a ls -lah so I can see the completed file but its not there... like all the directories are being created, the copies are taking time and doing their work but when I browse or ls the directory it's empty.

What's the deal?

---------- Post updated at 10:20 PM ---------- Previous update was at 10:18 PM ----------

Bonus question; without stopping the running job anyone got a good way to see how much has transferred? df -h /dest doesn't seem to produce any useful output.

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 03-14-2014 at 11:43 PM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

Strange ls results..

Multipart question.. Can anybody explain why this happens : -rw-rw-r-- 1 fnsw fnusr 1531061 Feb 13 21:45 filename1.log -rw-rw-r-- 1 fnsw fnusr 1760706 Feb 10 22:10 filename2.log -rw-rw-r-- 1 fnsw fnusr 1525805 Aug 16 2005 filename3.log -rw-rw-r-- 1... (3 Replies)