Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash Question: HowTo Exit Script with User Input While Process is Running Mid-Loop? Post 302891406 by hilltop_yodeler on Wednesday 5th of March 2014 01:52:28 PM
Old 03-05-2014
Thanks port43! Although this method does not accomplish what I had hoped to do in terms of "listening" for user input (pressing 'q' for quit), exiting the script with CTRL+c instead will work just fine for me and I'll be perfectly happy with that. The script is working very well now thanks to your input and suggestions. Before today, I had never heard of "trap".

As a musician, I will often times use this script when trying to commit a song or a series of songs to memory. Here's the new version:

Code:
echo -n "Would you like to repeat one file (1) or many files (M)?"
read quantity
echo ""
echo ""

echo -n "Enter the number of times you would like to play the file(s):"
read num
echo ""
echo ""

if [ $quantity == "1" ]
then
  echo -n "What is the name of the file?"
  read file
  trap 'exit 1' 1 2 3 15
  for ((i=1; i <= $num; i++))
     do mplayer $file
done

elif [ $quantity == "M" ]
then
  echo -n "Enter the file type or extension (mp3 / ogg / *)"
  read ext
  trap 'exit 1' 1 2 3 15
  for ((j=1; j <= $num; j++))
     do mplayer *.$ext
done

else
  echo ""
  echo -n "Invalid entry. Please try again."
  echo ""
fi

Thanks again!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

exit script if user input not four characters

#!/usr/bin/bash ###script to input four characters. wxyz echo "input first string" read instring1 echo "input second string" read instring2 ## echo "first string is:" $instring1 echo "second string is:" $instring2 ##IF instring1 or instring2 are NOT 4 characters (xxxx) , exit 1. ##how?? ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajp7701
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Writing a loop to process multiple input files by a shell script