Sponsored Content
Operating Systems OS X (Apple) A simple reminder script for beginners to shell scripting. Post 302890213 by Scrutinizer on Tuesday 25th of February 2014 05:28:13 PM
Old 02-25-2014
Hi Wisecracker. True, I guess. I habitually use a wait statement to wait for background processes. That way I do not have to think, when the while true loop is changed to something else in the future for example...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need a simple shell script

Hi, I am new to unix as well as shell programming. Any body can provide me a simple shell script which should copy/transfer/fetch a file(using FTP)from remote server to local system.and it should log the details when it was fetched.If there is any error,the error msg should log in log... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Mar1006
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

I need of a simple shell script

Hi, I need of a simple shell script to launch a perl script. The complet path of the script is: /export/home/x2693/project/v02/appliancemanagement.pl (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Minguccio75
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple shell - how to get a parameter typed in a shell script

Hi, I am new to unix and using linux 7.2. I would like to create a script that would make it easyer for me to run my java programms. At the moment I have to type java myJavaprogram I am trying to write a script that will allow me to type something like this "myscript myJavaprogram" or maybe... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: cmitulescu
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

using XML::simple in shell scripting

CPAN provide xml::simple module which can be used to generate XML files. can i use this module in shell scripting? how? plzz give me an example to generate xml file using this module . you can also use some other module.. BUT SHELL SCRIPTING SHOULD ONLY BE USED (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: cynosure2009
4 Replies