Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash script deleting my files, and editing files in subdirectories question Post 302886819 by TheGreatGizmo on Monday 3rd of February 2014 08:05:58 PM
Old 02-03-2014
Sorry, I'm really new to bash. Could someone explain how each part of these code segments work in 3 year old terms? And what the second one does? I like to understand what is going on. These were taken from Neutronscott's reply. Thanks

EDIT: Okay, I see what you did here. Though I'm not sure what the "$0" is for on the end of the printf statement.
Code:
(( $# == 2 )) || {
        printf 'Usage: %s <prefix> <ext>\n' "$0"
        exit 1
}

Code:
shopt -s globstar

Code:
continue # only "regular" files

EDIT: and I understand everything here other than '%s%03d.%s'
Code:
printf -v new '%s%03d.%s' "$prefix" $((number++)) "$type"

Code:
# skip to next file if name conflict
[ -f "$new" ] && continue
[ -x "$file" ] && continue

Last edited by TheGreatGizmo; 02-03-2014 at 10:10 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

editing files with script

hi guys, We have to implement new local (/etc/default/login) USER security policy on almost 50 stations. so editing /etc/default/login and /etc/default/passwd will be way too long work. Can we do the same using some script, I mean editing the above files and putting variables as RETRIES=3, ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Asteroid
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script for editing column files

Hi, I have been doing files editing (using "vi") to change the period (e.g. 0902 to 0903) for 100 files each week as shown in the example below. I would like to have a script to solve this manual files editing. Please advice. Example: Change from: ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: JunZ
2 Replies

3. Web Development

bash script editing my apache config files