Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Unable to extend volume group(VG) Post 302886737 by zaxxon on Monday 3rd of February 2014 10:53:04 AM
Old 02-03-2014
If that is the case, you are correct VBE and the OP should use chvg -g to have the new size be recognized.
And Joey you are correct too - a PV can only belong to one VG.

When you have run chvg -g and you see that the VG size is increased (check Total or Free PPs), you can do a chfs -a size=+20G /yourfilesystem if you want to extend a specific filesystem.

Last edited by zaxxon; 02-03-2014 at 12:04 PM..
This User Gave Thanks to zaxxon For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

Extend one Logical Volume

Hi All, I am new to AIX. I need to extend one Logical Volume it is jfs type on On AIX 5.1. I have enough free space on the volume group for this extension Can I use smitty chjfs , will this do it without interruptions to the application that is using this Logical Volume. Thanks Scampi (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: scampi
1 Replies

2. AIX

Help - can't extend logical volume ?

Hi, Smit "Increase the Size of a Logical Volume" command failed. Output: ---------------------------------------------------------- Command: failed stdout: yes stderr: no Before command completion, additional instructions may appear below. The distribution of this command (111) failed on... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vilius
2 Replies

3. HP-UX

Unable To Extend the Size of a Logical Volume File System

Background: # uname -a HP-UX deedee B.11.23 U ia64 4294967295 unlimited-user license deedee.rsn.hp.com:/ # bdf /opt Filesystem kbytes used avail %used Mounted on /dev/vg00/lvol6 6553600 6394216 158144 98% /opt /opt is almost full... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rob Sandifer
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unable to deactivate a Volume Group