Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Fetch ipaddress and hostname from host file. Post 302886236 by dinesh1178 on Thursday 30th of January 2014 08:16:00 AM
Old 01-30-2014
You can do it directly with
grep -i <ip address> /etc/hosts

Not sure why you need to use awk. Please provide more details if you have any specific requirement.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris - unknown hostname - how can I change hostname?

Hello, I am new to Solaris. I am using stand alone Solaris 10.0 for test/study purpose and connecting to internet via an ADSL modem which has DHCP server. My Solaris is working on VMWare within winXP. My WinXP and Solaris connects to internet by the same ADSL modem via its DHCP at the same... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: XNOR
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

fetch hostname and instance name using shell script

Hi All, Requirement is to fetch hostname and instance name using shell script from all configuration files on a server R12 on IBM AIX... could anyone please share such an experience encountered before.Is there such a script available in this forum or any other site.. Thanks for your time!... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: a1_win
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Fetch lines from a file matching column2 of another file

Hi guys, Please help me out in this problem. I have two files FILE1 abc-23 : 4529675 cde-42 : 9824532 dge-91 : 1245367 gre-45 : 9824532 fgr-76 : 4529675 FILE2 4529675 : Gal Glu house-2-be 9824532 : cat mouse 1245367 : sirf surf-2-beta where FILE2 is a static file with fixed... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: smriti_shridhar
5 Replies

4. Emergency UNIX and Linux Support

HP UX - ILO Console hostname different than Machine Hostname...