Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Delete big directory issue
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Delete big directory issue Post 302883696 by learnbash on Wednesday 15th of January 2014 02:54:00 PM
Old 01-15-2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadeInGermany
The /bin/rm binary should be the fastest.
Please state your OS and file system type!
Code:
uname
df $date

Code:
1) Linux RHEL5
2) ext3
3) kernel 2.6
3) currently i am
4) Filesystem is 70% available disk space.

---------- Post updated at 02:54 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:51 PM ----------

Please check below link, is it possible we can do something for directories too..

How to delete million of files on busy Linux servers (Work out Argument list too long) | Walking in Light with Christ - Faith, Computing, Diary

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need script to make big directory structure

Hi, I'm a novice and I'd like to make a directory structure with a hundred or so folders. I've tried mkdir /foo/foo1/etc... mkdir /foo/foo2/etc mkdir /foo/foo3/etc mkdir /foo/foo4/etc ...but it appends '@' to each folder name and then fails on the subdirectories. Is it better to use a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamur
2 Replies

2. HP-UX

Processing very big directory

Hello, I have a very big directory with lots of small files. Just doing a single "ls" takes eternity, so I even can't know how many files the directory has. I need to get the newest files in the last 15 minutes, but I can't get an eficient way of doing it. I've tried find, perl, shell script,... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: psimoes79
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find which dir is big size in a directory

Hi all, Could you please tellme the commadn which sorts the list of directories in a parent dir by their size. Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: firestar
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Empty Directory, big size