Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare strings with space in if statement Post 302880799 by cartrider on Monday 23rd of December 2013 02:12:36 PM
Old 12-23-2013
Compare strings with space in if statement

Code:
DEV> vi test_if_statement.sh 
"test_if_statement.sh" [Incomplete last line] 9 lines, 205 characters 
proc_out="Normal completion"
proc_out_comp="Normal completion"
echo 'proc_out:'$proc_out
echo 'proc_out_comp:'$proc_out_comp
if [ $proc_out = "Normal completion" ] then
echo 'match'
else
echo 'no_match'
fi
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
:q!
->DEV> test_if_statement.sh 
proc_out:Normal completion
proc_out_comp:Normal completion
./test_if_statement.sh: line 7: syntax error near unexpected token `else'
./test_if_statement.sh: line 7: `else'
->DEV>

Any idea how to get 'match in the result?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

to compare two strings

hi all, i am new to unix. Actually i need to compare two string and print the result... suppose type='sun' if; then echo good morning else echo good night fi whether the comparison is right r we need to use eq???? help me please.... :confused: thanks in advance.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ithirak17
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Regex in if-then-else statement to match strings

hello I want to do a pattern match for string in the if statement, but I am not sure how to use regex inside the if statement. I am looking for something like this: if {2,3} ]; then ..... .... ... fi (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: rakeshou
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

use strings in case statement options

I iterate in string list well but when I try to add a case statement in order to wrap the string value in a more accurate message I faced different problems. #Code starts ST_CODES="CN CU BU CQ LE" for ST_CODE in $ST_CODES do #echo $ST_CODE CODE="$ST_CODE""\n" ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: fdiaza
3 Replies