Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Red Hat 5.10 repository issue - desktop version Post 302878713 by SkySmart on Sunday 8th of December 2013 09:44:44 AM
Old 12-08-2013
Red Hat 5.10 repository issue - desktop version

this is proving to be a real pain to set up. i recently installed red hat 5.10 desktop version.

install went well. i've registered my system, but i cant seem to yum install simple packages.

i can install some packages, but many others i cant. for instance, i cant do a:
Code:
yum install php

yum search php

when i do, i get a:

Code:
no package php available

anything else i can try? i've enabled everything that has "enabled = 0" in the /etc/yum.repos.d/ directory and that still didn't help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

Red Hat Enterprise Linux Version 3

Hello there guys, i'm new in this linux world and i'm having problems with telnet session. I enabled telnet login but it wont let me login as root. is there a file that i need to take a look to make sure that root could telnet to the system. Thanks a lot guys for your help. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: josramon
2 Replies

2. Ubuntu

Red Hat Linux & Desktop Market Share

Hello Everyone! A simple question: Do you think that Red Hat Linux will be obtaining a MAJOR share of the desktop operating systems on personal computers in near future? 1. Yes 2. No 3.Not Sure Thanks JAM (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jawwad
13 Replies

3. Red Hat

Virtual Red Hat version

Hello, Is there a Virtual Red hat that will work with Windows Vista? I would like to become more familiar with it and a virtual version will help me with a hands on approach. Nov_User (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nov_user
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

mailx for red hat version 5.4