Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Moving directories
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Moving directories Post 302877827 by Don Cragun on Tuesday 3rd of December 2013 12:53:33 PM
Old 12-03-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by montywaite
Thanks
Looks good

How would I move
Code:
subj_1/session_1/AAA/sample.txt
subj_1/session_1/AAA/test.txt

from
~/home/study1
to
~/data/study1
Does ~/data/study1/subj_1 exist?

Are there any files in and under ~/home/study1/subj_1 that you don't want to move to ~/data/study1?

If you want to move (not copy) the files, and the answer to both questions above is "no", try:
Code:
mv ~/home/study1/subj_1 ~/data/study1/

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Solaris

Tar and moving directories

I'm redoing my file system partitions on a Sunblade 100. The system came with a 999mb root and slice 6 with 35GB. I redid the file system by creating separate /opt1, /usr1, /var1, and a /data on different partitions (slice 3, 4, 5 and 7). I need a command to tar my opt, var, opt, usr that's under... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: stocksj
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Moving files between directories using SFTP

I want to connect to an SFTP server, GET some files, then move those files to a different directory on the SFTP server so I don't try to GET them next time. But there doesn't seem to be a way to move files between directories on the remote server from SFTP. I missing something obvious? And if... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cjhancock
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Moving Directories Based on Modified date