Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Backup and restore query
Operating Systems AIX Backup and restore query Post 302877115 by rbatte1 on Thursday 28th of November 2013 07:30:10 AM
Old 11-28-2013
And your question is ............?

Perhaps the space is used more efficiently when the files are restored. If the original files became fragmented with lots of partial disk blocks being written, then you could see a space used reduction after a restore as that would write full disk blocks and therefore use less of them.

Is this what you are after or have I missed the point? You made need to explain what you are seeing a little more.

Robin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

HP-UX Filesystem backup/restore?

:confused: Hi Guys, I'm not new to UNIX but I am new to HP-UX. I have a proven backup and restore procedue using cpio on Solaris, however, the filesystem structure appears to be different on HP. Can anybody help me with the following questions? 1) What is the best method for performing a... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: mybeat
7 Replies

2. Solaris

Backup / restore

Hi.... everyone could help me to understand how to do a backup of my servers .. operating systems is sun solaris 8 . I have some question about .... 1) Is better backup phisical disk or partition ??? i sow the command is ufsdump 0cfu /expbck/bcksunver/c0t0d0s5 dev/dsk/c0t0d0s5 to... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: tt155
4 Replies

3. AIX

Backup and restore

I have several H80 machines, all with AIX 4.3.3. On these machines I have mksysb running for rootvg backups and savevg for non-rootvg backups. I'm trying to get a list of files on the tapes, but I can't seem to do it with tar for the mksysb images. I keep getting the directory checksum errors?... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: uXion
3 Replies

4. HP-UX

F-Backup restore