Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers awk code does not receive input Post 302872827 by RudiC on Sunday 10th of November 2013 07:47:27 AM
Old 11-10-2013
You can have like I posted in the command line, or you can run it in the BEGIN section of the script file.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk - input function

hello, im a newbie. how can i input data from keyboard? thanks. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jariya
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk/input parameter

Hi, My script takes in one input parameter($1-email id) on the command line... The script contains something like this... awk '$1 == 400' abc.log >def.log mail -s subject $1 <def.log abc.log looks something like this... 300 222 330 123 445 400 098 890 727 663 How do i make the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wannalearn
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

2 input files for awk

Hi, i have 2 files like f1 and f2 f1: 1 Note: some times it will be cahnged to 2 and 3. f2: 1:20 2:30 4:50 6:70 8:90 3:20 1:30 1:40 output: 1:80 (sum of 1) (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: koti_rama
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk user input

Using the following I'm trying to print the user's response to the prompt Y / N but I get nothing other than the contents of $1? awk '{ printf($1 " ? (Y/N)") getline myresponse < "-" system("read myresponse") if (myresponse == "Y") { print $1... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: gefa
17 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK using two input files

Hi , i have two input files one is input.gz and another is ( input.txt) text file.in gz format input file each record contains 10 fields and corresponding header value is present in the text file as a single record i.e text file contains only 10 records which is header value,so output of the awk... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Ajoy
1 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting