Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers awk code does not receive input Post 302872795 by MadeInGermany on Sunday 10th of November 2013 04:46:46 AM
Old 11-10-2013
awk takes a file as input.
The $1 $2 are set from its fields.
Give the file name as parameter.
Addional parameters can set awk variables.
For example, assuming your awk code is saved in the file awkscript
Code:
awk -v EASTING=1 -v NORTHING=2 -f awkscript inputfile

Last edited by MadeInGermany; 11-11-2013 at 05:40 AM.. Reason: -f not -F

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk - input function

hello, im a newbie. how can i input data from keyboard? thanks. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jariya
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk/input parameter

Hi, My script takes in one input parameter($1-email id) on the command line... The script contains something like this... awk '$1 == 400' abc.log >def.log mail -s subject $1 <def.log abc.log looks something like this... 300 222 330 123 445 400 098 890 727 663 How do i make the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wannalearn
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

2 input files for awk

Hi, i have 2 files like f1 and f2 f1: 1 Note: some times it will be cahnged to 2 and 3. f2: 1:20 2:30 4:50 6:70 8:90 3:20 1:30 1:40 output: 1:80 (sum of 1) (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: koti_rama
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk user input

Using the following I'm trying to print the user's response to the prompt Y / N but I get nothing other than the contents of $1? awk '{ printf($1 " ? (Y/N)") getline myresponse < "-" system("read myresponse") if (myresponse == "Y") { print $1... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: gefa
17 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK using two input files