Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need Advice for This Programming way Post 302870453 by Chubler_XL on Sunday 3rd of November 2013 04:14:21 PM
Old 11-03-2013
What sort of Checks are you doing what resource consumption are you concerned about?

Do you really need the script to be running 24 hours?
Consider running it periodically throughout the day (e.g. via a cron job every X mins).

Note a script that performs your checks and then sleeps for 10 seconds will consume much less CPU than one that performs the checks continuously.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

programming advice needed....

i'm a grad student taking a UNIX course and a networks course (i have a background in C++ and JAVA). i'm trying to combine the two classes. My questions stems from a networks programming homework assignment below: "Using the operating system and language of your choice, develop a program to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: trostycp
5 Replies

2. Programming

c programming or unix programming!?

i would like advice on the usbject of c programming (in the middle of reading a book on C). could i benefit more if i apply that knowledge in the unix format if i were able to, or would that take the point out of learning C, basically I want to stay away from strying too far away from unix and use... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: moxxx68
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Carreer:Networking Programming in Unix (C programming Language)

Hello, I am trying to learn Networking Programming in C in unix enviorment. I want to know how good it is to become a network programmer. i am crazy about Network programming but i also want to opt for the best carreer options. Anybody experienced Network Programmer, please tell me is my... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: vibhory2j
5 Replies

4. Programming

C Programming - Hardware Programming