Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Stop Writing Scripts
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Stop Writing Scripts Post 302867279 by Corona688 on Wednesday 23rd of October 2013 06:26:51 PM
Old 10-23-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisecracker
I, as a complete novice, am wondering why is shell scripting considered _complete_hell_ from your POV...
I suspect it's not to do with the shell scripting itself but the management of it. "There's a bunch of script files on server x left by admin z, nobody knows what they do" kind of thing.

Which doesn't make shell scripting the problem as much as the lack of documentation...

Somehow making it all visual doesn't strike me as actually solving it. Whether it's text or diagrams, you have to know the tools.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help on writing scripts!!??

Hello, I don't know anything about scripting, and I want help on writing a script, which can help me doing my research. Actually I have some ASCII format files formatted in a way looks like this 6 lines of text that is not important for me File_header_name_number_1 <--... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: geoquest
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

writing schell scripts

I am very new to Unix. I need to write a script that will grep some files, etc. When I write the script, do I need to know what shell I am using? If so, how do I do that? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ssmiths001
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Start and stop of an application thru shell scripts.

Hi, I just learnt the shell scripting and got working on that right now. I have one problem. Here i am having a java application that needs to be start and stop using two shell scripts, i.e., starting the java application using one shell script and stopping the application using another... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sadha
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

writing scripts