Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Device Names on Android
Operating Systems Linux Android Device Names on Android Post 302866713 by Corona688 on Tuesday 22nd of October 2013 03:27:28 PM
Old 10-22-2013
You would not see it in /sys/block, block devices are disks. I used my hard drive as an off-the-cuff example of how to get the major/minor numbers. It might be found under /sys/class/tty/. It is full of virtual terminals which you can ignore, but will have serial ports as well.

Lots of devices these days include a little hard drive thing along with the device. It might have device drivers on it or promotional software. Or it might be something else entirely, when you can see the hardware the way Linux does some things just act strange.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Device Files names and location

HI there. I am studying System administration right now and am stuck on a question that I have failed to find the answer for in my book. The question is: Do device files need to be in the /dev directory and to they need to follow a naming convention? My answer (so far) is that since the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Carl1976
7 Replies

2. Android

Android Scripting Environment: Shell Scripting and Android

I just upgraded to Android 2.2 from 2.1. The GPS issue that was troublesome in 2.1 seems to have been fixed. Some of web browsing seems faster, but it could just be my connection is better today ;) Flash works in some browsers but not very good and it is too slow for Flash apps designed for... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Neo
0 Replies

3. Red Hat

Unable To Activate Ethernet Network Device in RHEL 5.5 - e100 device eth0 does not seem to be presen