Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Fedora Newby: How to actually update software?! Post 302865719 by sas on Saturday 19th of October 2013 12:10:43 PM
Old 10-19-2013
Newby: How to actually update software?!

Hi All -

1) I work with bigdate for a living, use lots of neat software, SAS, SQL Server, etc. I know how to get my data and such, analyze it, etc...
2) I use UNIX at work (Solaris mostly) and can easily navigate around Unix and get the job done, vi and sas -nodms are about my fav, and some python and shells here there).
3) What I am not is a Unix System Admin. Sure I get the OS, and why it is so great, i.e. / is the bees knees, /home/me, etc....
4) So I have now joined the club! I have three Linux machines at home all connected and talking and everything is great! I even installed Hadoop (well specifically: hadoop-1.2.1 at /usr/local/hadoop) by getting it all untared and such and setup and nice and pretty by doing this:
Code:
sudo mv hadoop-1.2.0/ hadoop

5) So life is great! My main node and slaves are all happy! Woohoo!
6) But now change comes, Apache releases stable release hadoop-2.2.0 three days ago!?Smilie
7) NOW WHAT?!
8) I cant download the new version, and merely do this while here /usr/local:
Code:
sudo mv hadoop-2.2.0/ hadoop

I am sure the sky would fall, baby dolphins would die and other ill effects of such awful OS understanding.

9) So I come to you all for a very basic, best practice way of doing upgrades?
10) I think I "just" follow the upgrade guide at apache re updating the Hadoop OS, but you know, there really isn't something there that says, "Well buddy, just setup /usr/local/hadoop-2.2.0 then move all the config files and whatnot to the old install (/usr/local/hadoop) to the new one (/usr/local/hadoop-2.2.0) and when you are comfortable that it's all running swell, after following our guide, well, just DELETE the whole folder: /usr/local/hadoop and then do this:
Code:
sudo mv hadoop-2.2.0/ hadoop