Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Printing into two files under difference situation Post 302861393 by Smiling Dragon on Tuesday 8th of October 2013 08:59:43 PM
Old 10-08-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by grace_shen
Thank you so much!But is it perl or shell script? I am sorry for the easy questions. I usually working on Perl, but it is not like the regular one. How can I run it? Run under the linux command line?

---------- Post updated at 07:55 PM ---------- Previous update was at 07:37 PM ----------

thank you so much for the reply, but I am really a newbie in coding, could u please add some comment on each line so that it is easy for me to refer and adjust. Thank you so much and I really appreciate all the help.
It's unix commandline, but also works in a shell script.
If you make a new file, put:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

As the first line, then the code below in it. You'll be able to run it as a script.
Otherwise, can just copy paste the entire thing into your shell on the commandline at it'll work.

Version with comments:
Code:
#Run the following for every file in the current directory that ends with ".gff" - note that it might
# get confused if you have gff files with a space in the filename.
for file in *.gff
do
  # Find the filename prefix by removing the ".gff" part of the filename
  fileprefix=`echo "$file" | sed 's/\.gff$//'`
  # Go through the .gff file line by line
  cat ${file} | while read line
  do
    # by default, assume we want to include all lines in the "yes" file
    include="yes"
    # For each word on the given line, see if it's present in "name.txt"
    for entry in $line
    do
      # If it is not present, then we know we need to put this line in the "no" file instead
      grep "$entry" name.txt > /dev/null || include=""
    done
    # If we get to the end and $include still has something in it ("yes") then we know we found all the entries on this line
    # So we add it to the "yes" file, otherwise the "no" file