Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Dd of disk contains vg and restore on another m/c Post 302855443 by abhishekdave on Friday 20th of September 2013 03:36:45 AM
Old 09-20-2013
Hello,

Thanks and appreciate you response.

Actually, i am very new to this platform and someone told me to do this task

From Node1

1) create a VG with 1 or more LV
2) create a file system on this vg.
3) varyoff vg1
4) exportvg hdisk31

Now from node1
1) importvg hdisk5
2) varyonvg vg1

As disk is shared among node1 and node2.

I am unable to do that.

For systems which don't have shared disk. I have to do below things

From Node1,
1) use dd to copy whole image ( ~10G) of hdisk31
2) restore on node3 using dd of same size disk.
3) Now, importvg hdisk?
4) Now, ensure vg and lv is available.
5) now, mount file system

am i missing any thing.

We don't have any backup thing. we want to back of dd image only.

Thank in advance.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Restore to disk from tape

I have been restoring from tape some old data. I have done quite a few tapes and have had no problems until now. The command I am running is "dd if=/dev/rmt/1hbn bs=1024 | tar -pBxF - ". This is the second tape have have come up with the error "Not enough space". This tape has a couple of... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mtoombs
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to restore a dump file on the disk

Hi all, i am a real dummy to unix and in need of help.My platform is Sun solaris(5.9) I have a dump file, an oracle cold backup taken with ufsdump command. This dump file resides on the disk, not the tape. I want to extract this dump file to a directory. But i cant, i read about ufsrestore... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: merope
1 Replies

3. Solaris

after ZFS can not restore VTOC of disk..