Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Check Date Format And Email Out Post 302854537 by Ariean on Tuesday 17th of September 2013 03:59:34 PM
Old 09-17-2013
That really helps. However i started coding using my original statement but struck can you help.

Code:
awk '{for(i=1;i++<=NF;)if($i~/^EXTRACT_DATE|^UNINUM/) print $i}' AgriBank_v2.xml

Output:
Code:
UNINUM="0722075"
EXTRACT_DATE="2012-09-30"
UNINUM="0722146"
UNINUM="0722502"
UNINUM="0722643"

I want to capture the UNINUM & EXTRACT_DATE in the following pattern so that i can go in a loop and assign them to variables to put much information in log files.

Code:
0722075 2012-09-30
0722146 2012-09-30
0722502 2012-09-30
0722643 2012-09-30

please help.

Thank you.

Last edited by Ariean; 09-17-2013 at 05:06 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Check for the correct date format in UNIx

Hi All, I am getting two input from User for Date from the command prompt when my script is executed . The date format i am taking is : DD-MM-YYYY so is there any method in Unix to validate the two input date. There might be many cases for these two date to be invalid.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rawatds
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Check the format of Date

Hi, I have a date field in my input file. I just want to check if its in the format "DD-MM-YYYY". Is there any command which can achieve this? Thanks and Regards, Abhishek (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: AAA
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Any simple method to check date format (YYDDD)?

Hi Guru's, Are there any simple method to check the date format which is in "YYDDD" (ex: 08002 for 02-Jan-2008)? Eventhough this can be implemented in several way's, I need the simpler one. Any idea would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance, Mysore Ganapati (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ganapati
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Check input date format?