Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Insert single quote and commas Post 302853439 by Nand Kishor on Saturday 14th of September 2013 11:38:34 AM
Old 09-14-2013
Insert single quote and commas

Hi All,

I have a set of data as below :

Code:
XS012371378 Raj 23-09-12
SH128238948 Andrew 24-08-12
CH273712399 Walsh 12-10-12
JK7249923893 Nick 10-02-13
JP6383791389 Braslin 30-12-13

I want the first column to be extracted separately. I can get this using awk.
Code:
awk '{print $1}' file_name

But then along with that i need the same column as shown below :

Code:
'XS012371378',
'SH128238948',
'CH273712399',
'JK7249923893',
'JP6383791389'

Can you please help me with this.?

Last edited by Scott; 09-14-2013 at 02:25 PM.. Reason: More code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I insert commas/delimiters in File

Hi, Newbie here. Need to convert a txt file to .csv format. There's no character to replace so not sure if I can use sed :confused: . The comma is to be inserted after every certain number of characters in each line... Help! Thanks. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mbelen
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Regex in grep to match all lines ending with a double quote (") OR a single quote (')

Hi, I've been trying to write a regex to use in egrep (in a shell script) that'll fetch the names of all the files that match a particular pattern. I expect to match the following line in a file: Name = "abc" The regex I'm using to match the same is: egrep -l '(^) *= *" ** *"$' /PATH_TO_SEARCH... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: NanJ
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Insert Commas at fixed positions