Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Conditional execution
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Conditional execution Post 302853203 by Corona688 on Friday 13th of September 2013 11:39:39 AM
Old 09-13-2013
I'd use a variable for that. When you detect files, change the variable, and it'll stay changed.

find may be more efficient than ls | grep.

Code:
trap "rm -f /tmp/$$" EXIT
INTERVAL=300

while true
do
        find /mydir -uname root '!' -path 'lost+found' > /tmp/$$
        # If the file is not empty, set the interval to 10
        [ -s /tmp/$$ ] || INTERVAL=10
        cat /tmp/$$
        sleep $INTERVAL
done

This User Gave Thanks to Corona688 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

If conditional

Hi, I am new to unix and shell scripting.In my script,there is a line using the "if" conditional - if && ; then do something Here "x" is a variable holding string value.If it is not equal to a comma or a string,only then I want to enter the "if" loop. But I am getting error while... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abhinavsinha
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Conditional execution and parallel jobs

how can i process jobs parallel with conditions below. Script1.ksh Script2.ksh Script3.ksh Script4.ksh Script5.ksh Script6.ksh Script7.ksh Script8.ksh Script9.ksh Script10.ksh After successful completion of Script1.ksh I need to run Script7.ksh. After successful... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ford2020
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

unix script for conditional execution

Below is my shell script. I am trying to execute two different BTEQ scripts depending on the day of the week. So on a saturday I will execute a certain BTEQ script and on other weekdays I will run the other script. #!/bin/ksh dt=`date +"%a"` if then bteq > final_output <<- EOF .run... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mihirjani
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting