Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Really need some help with Parsing files by date Post 302851665 by darrenwg99 on Monday 9th of September 2013 12:40:39 PM
Old 09-09-2013
Question Really need some help with Parsing files by date

Hi,
I am new to Unix and need some help with a problem I have.

I have been asked to ftp a file(s) from a directory to another system.
I need to be able to allow the current days file to build and only send any other file across that is in the directory. I need a peice of code that will read the date from a file e.g. "LABSDATA_20130909.DAT" know that it todays file and leave it but read the next file in e.g. "LABSDATA_20130908.DAT" and recognise it has the previous days date and ftp this file and any other file that doesn't contain todays date.

I have been told I can use parsing to do but I only have basic Unix experience.

Any advice, help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing a system log file via the 'date' command

Hello, I'm trying to update some scripts here that parse our system logs daily. They report information just fine... but they just report too much info. Specifically, if there's been some failed login attempts on several different days (say Monday and Tuesday), when I get the report from... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: cjones
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Date parsing into string, help!

I have a file that was created yesterday that I want to access... daily.log2008-02-16 I am using... curr_time=`date +"%Y %m %d"` yesterday=`./datecalc.ksh -a $curr_time - 1` the value for yesterday is now "2008 2 16" in ksh, how do I transform the string "2008 2 16" into "2008-02-16" (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: martyb555
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting Files by date and moving files in date order