Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Complex comparison of 3 files Post 302850563 by Ophiuchus on Thursday 5th of September 2013 03:31:08 AM
Old 09-05-2013
Hello Pamu, Scrutinizer, Mr.Bean

Many thanks! all 3 solution works correctly

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with complex merg of files with common field

Please help, I am new to shell Programming. I have three files each containg a unique text (key) field (e.g. ABCDEF, XCDUD as shown below), line return followed by some data of which there can be more then one instance. In addition, in some cases there may be no data but only a key field. Please... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: gugs
18 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparison of 2 files

Kindly help on follows. I have 2 files. One file contains only one column of mobile numbers. And total records in a file 12 million. Second file contains 2 columns mobile numbers and balance. and total records 30 million. I want to find out balance of each data in file 1 corresponding to file 2.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamal_418
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed: How to modify files in a complex way

Hello, I am new to sed and hope that someone can help me with the following task. I need to modify a txt file which has format like this: xy=CreateDB|head.queue|head.source|head.definition|rtf.edit|rtf.task|rft.cut abc|source|divine|line4|5|true into something like: head.queue=abc... (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinkypunky
19 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Joining files in a complex way

if input1 1st row labels (S1or S2 or S3 or any (actually so many in original text file)) are similar to 1st column of input2 i.e "ID" merge them together based on input1 1st row labels. for example take S1..... input1 "aphab" "S1" "S2" "S3" "a" "A/A" "A/A" "A/A" "b" ... (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: stateperl
19 Replies