Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users How to save a data of a file into a variable? Post 302848771 by pamu on Friday 30th of August 2013 04:17:52 AM
Old 08-30-2013
Code:
while read line
do
id=$(echo $line | cut -d "," -f1)
email=$(echo $line | cut -d "," -f2)

echo $id $email
done<file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read file from within AWK and save $1 to a variable

Hi I am very new to NAWK programming so this question is probably going to sound really stupid: I have a NAWK script which contains a DO loop. During each loop it runs a FORTRAN program which in turn generates two output files , each one containing 2 integer variables. I would appreciate it... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: robbiegregg
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Data fetched from text file and save in a csv file

Hi i have wriiten a script which fetches the data from text file, and saves in the output in a text file itself, but i want that the output should save in different columns. I have the output like: For Channel:response_time__24.txt 1547 data points 0.339 0.299 0.448 0.581 7.380 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rohitkalia
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

select data from oracle table and save the output as csv file

Hi I need to execute a select statement in a solaris environment with oracle database. The select statement returns number of rows of data. I need the data to be inserted into a CSV file with proper format. For that we normally use "You have to select all your columns as one big string,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rdhanek
2 Replies

4. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Why can't I save a VI file after entering data?