Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Split csv file by line count. Post 302846393 by GroveTuckey on Friday 23rd of August 2013 05:05:22 PM
Old 08-23-2013
RudiC my first test seemed to work great with what you posted.

Thanks very much, and yes it was a strange quoted file.

Thanks again. I will do more extensive testing and if I find anything odd I will let you know.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to get a file name & record count of csv file

HI , I am new to shell scripting , I have a requirement that I send a file for data quality ( original.csv) & i will be getting 4 files daily into a particular directory in return with cleansed data . the files may be clean.csv, unclean.csv , ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sirik
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Record count of a csv file

Hello Gurus, We have a requirement to count the valid number of records in a comma delimited file with double quotes. The catch here is..few records have a new line carriage within the double quotes,,say for ex:we have a file called accounts the record count is 4827..but the actual valid count... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajaykk
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Split long record into csv file

Hi I receive a mainframe file which has very long records (1100 chars) with no field delimiters. I need to parse each record and output a comma delimited (csv) file. The record layout is fixed. If there weren't so many fields and records I would read the file into Excel, as a "fixed width"... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: wvdeijk
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

split file based on group count