Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk match whole word using a variable Post 302844887 by Jotne on Tuesday 20th of August 2013 08:33:47 AM
Old 08-20-2013
I do suggest you post your input file, how you like to output to be and how to get there.
This way we can more understand what you are doing.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to match a exact word in a variable ????

Hi All, Str="online maintenance" if then perform some action I know the above comparison is wrong ..... Actually I am very new to this solaris.. I want to check for online in a variable and perform some action based on that How can I do it? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vijaysachin
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question on awk for finding the column number using a match word

Hi Guys, Please help me out in my situation of writing a shell script Exampl:I have a output like asnapply 1 2 3 apply_server=1 apply_schema=ASN asnapply 1 2 3 apply_server=2 apply_schema=ASN Now i need output like asnacmd applysever=1 applyschema=ASN stop asnacmd applysever=2... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: mallak
16 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Substituting a word by different word in variable

Hello Exprets, I have a requirement where i have to subtitue a word with another word. $eachline| sed 's/*$//' a) $eachline will hold a value a path for example user/oracle/Test_admin/myfolder/bakup/part_bkptemp_part_bkp_repeated/list.txt b) $eachline| sed 's/*$//' will give me the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: aks_1902
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Match exact Variable in Awk

I want to match exact string stored in Variable INO and print next two lines. I have written below code which partially matches: awk '/\'$VAR'/{getline; getline; print}' Will be thankful , if somebody can help in to resolve this problem. Please view this code tag video for how to use... (9 Replies)