Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk match whole word using a variable Post 302844805 by RudiC on Tuesday 20th of August 2013 04:55:20 AM
Old 08-20-2013
You didn't read Jotne's post.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to match a exact word in a variable ????

Hi All, Str="online maintenance" if then perform some action I know the above comparison is wrong ..... Actually I am very new to this solaris.. I want to check for online in a variable and perform some action based on that How can I do it? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vijaysachin
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question on awk for finding the column number using a match word

Hi Guys, Please help me out in my situation of writing a shell script Exampl:I have a output like asnapply 1 2 3 apply_server=1 apply_schema=ASN asnapply 1 2 3 apply_server=2 apply_schema=ASN Now i need output like asnacmd applysever=1 applyschema=ASN stop asnacmd applysever=2... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: mallak
16 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Substituting a word by different word in variable

Hello Exprets, I have a requirement where i have to subtitue a word with another word. $eachline| sed 's/*$//' a) $eachline will hold a value a path for example user/oracle/Test_admin/myfolder/bakup/part_bkptemp_part_bkp_repeated/list.txt b) $eachline| sed 's/*$//' will give me the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: aks_1902
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Match exact Variable in Awk

I want to match exact string stored in Variable INO and print next two lines. I have written below code which partially matches: awk '/\'$VAR'/{getline; getline; print}' Will be thankful , if somebody can help in to resolve this problem. Please view this code tag video for how to use... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: nitj
9 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print a word after a match