Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare and contrast Perl v Python Post 302842795 by wisecracker on Saturday 10th of August 2013 10:48:26 AM
Old 08-10-2013
Python is fully interactive by default and one can work from a Python prompt directly.

Just enter
Code:
python<CR>

from a terminal and away you go...

Perl OTOH can be set to an interactive environment by invoking the debugger but I have no serious experience on this language at all; just enter
Code:
perl -de 1<CR>

and you will have an interactive seesion.

Python relies entirely on indentation for correct operation, so beware, do NOT mix say 8 spaces with a tab inside the same indented code piece...

The python error reports, (tracebacks), are IMO excellent...

As I have little or no experience in perl then I can't comment....

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl style i++ in Python

friends Is it possible to implement perl style autoincriment in python? e.g i++ How it can be represented in python Jagan (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jaganadh
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl to Python

Friends How to convert this perl notation to Python ${$$hashptr{$sys_Id}}{$doc_Id} = $docstr; Jagan (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jaganadh
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Simple Perl/Python Script

I have the following problem, which I need done in Perl/ or Python using Unix/linux filters... 1. You have a very large file, named 'ColCheckMe', tab-delmited, that you are asked to process. You are told that each line in 'ColCheckMe' has 7 columns, and that the values in the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Swapnilsagarwal
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl Vs Python

Hello all, I am in a bit of dilema here. I want to implement a suite. it involves a lot of text file processing and shell scripts . which one to use perl or python ? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: achak01
4 Replies