Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Detecting new entries in log files Post 302841241 by ryandegreat25 on Wednesday 7th of August 2013 06:16:28 AM
Old 08-07-2013
ill try your suggestion. thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

detecting drives

I know that Unix is different from windows in that it needs more manual configuring but how do I get Solaris 8 (Intel version) to recognize my floppy drive and cd-rom?? I mean does it automatically detect the drives at startup and I have to mount them or do I have to create the drives somehow and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: eloquent99
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Detecting Second disk

Hello all, first of all, I apologise if I may ask stupid or obvious questions, but I'm new to UNIX and I think I need a little bit of help before I start gearing up :) Anyway, I have installed a Solaris 8 on a Sun machine, and it has 2 physical disks in it. However, it seems that it is only... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dragunu
7 Replies

3. Programming

Detecting interruptions in C

Hi. You may know how to detect when a interruption succeeded programming in C. Just like receiving a signal without blocking. Knowing when it was a keystroke (IRQ 2), or a mouse movement (12), or a disk access, etc. and getting actually for example the letter typed. Thanks a lot. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ashrentum
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Detecting incoming files without busy polling

Hello, I'd like to handle incoming (uploaded) files from a shell script, ideally without busy polling / waiting (e.g. running a cron task every 15'). Is there a command that would just sleep until a new entry has been created in a directory, allowing scripts such as the following: while... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: baldyeti
9 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help in detecting errors