Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk Scripting
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk Scripting Post 302840715 by RudiC on Tuesday 6th of August 2013 10:54:18 AM
Old 08-06-2013
Why not
Code:
awk '{print "server:" $4 "\tdate:" $1 "\tseverity:"$2}' FS="\t" test.log

This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Awk scripting

Hi, I'm new to unix and i am kind of familiar with the basic commands. can anyone suggest some good books especially for AWK scripting and SHELL scripting thanks, Hari (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rharee
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK scripting

I have a text file in which the text has been divided into paragraphs (two line breaks or tab marks a new paragraph) and I want to make a script which output would delete line breaks within the paragraph and the different paragraphs would be separated by two line breaks. So, if my input file... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: Muki101
14 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Scripting via awk

Hi, I am trying to understand what is happening here, new to scripting: I have a couple of these, but if I knew what was going on in one I can figure out the rest: awk '/rpc-100083/ { $2 = "enable -r" } $3 ~ /.NOS99dtlogin/ { $t = $2; $2 = $3; $3 = $t } { print }' /var/svc/profile/upgrade... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ulemsee
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk scripting

Hi I have 2 files of large size( 10 Miilions) , i want to join 2 files based on some condition . for this taking lot of time and 100 cpu .i want to iterate the based on some value (like 1 lakh) I put the 2 files in the associative arrays . if the array limit reaches the 1 lach join the with... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kiranmosarla
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting/awk help : awk sum output is not comming in regular format. Pls advise.