Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Feed Input to a script running on bash Post 302839535 by gaurav kumar on Friday 2nd of August 2013 12:52:55 AM
Old 08-02-2013
RedHat Feed Input to a script running on bash

Hi Sir,

I am just learning bash scripting and I came across a challenge.

I need to input F11 to a script among many text inputs.

For all the text inputs i did following.

# sh test.sh < input.txt

where input.txt contains all the text inputs in new lines.

This worked fine until i came across a input which is F11 or Escape.

Please guide me how to handle this.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script running in bash 3.0 not in 3.2

I have wasted one working day writing this scripts. It compares two folders and make a good tabbed report about their differences. #!/bin/bash function DRAW_DEPTH () { ROUND=$1 while do printf %s " " ROUND=`expr $ROUND - 1` done printf %s "|- " } function MAIN () {... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: trutoman
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change in Input feed based on condition file

Sorry Guys for not being able to explain in one of my earlier post. I am now putting my requirement with the input file and desired output file. In the below input file - Transaction code is at position 31:40. Business code is from position 318:321 TSCM00000005837 ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: varunrbs
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Input file to bash script

Hi, I have this script Script.sh: #!/bin/sh sed 's,\,,g' input.dat > output .dat But i want to run it witb different files. So i want the input file as an input argument to the script, how could i do that. Running it like this: > Script.sh input.dat (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Johanni
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

script running by sh but not by bash