Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Explaination on Behavior of awk command Post 302839329 by chandana hs on Thursday 1st of August 2013 05:11:53 AM
Old 08-01-2013
Explaination on Behavior of awk command

Hello Admin,
Could you pls explain on the below behavior of the awk command.

Code:
$ awk -F">20" "/Cyclomatic complexity/ && /;add;/{print \$1}" inspect_64d_369980 | awk '{print $NF}' | sort | tail -1

Code:
$var=`awk -F">20" "/Cyclomatic complexity/ && /;add;/{print \$1}" inspect_64d_369980 | awk '{print $NF}' | sort | tail -1`;echo $var
65>20;;Existing;;Analyze;21190;htgoto:project=F_64_d,pid=21190

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Using Bold font isn't helping here. Please use CODE tags to show sample code, input, and output.

Regards,
Chandana

Last edited by Don Cragun; 08-01-2013 at 06:49 AM.. Reason: Add CODE tags

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

I would like to know the explaination.

Hi, I'm new to LINUX Scripting, I would like to know the full explaination of the below scripts. thank you. 1st script #! /bin/sh . /opt/home/hssadmin/cindy/formatxml.env `testrecord.scp` `testEXGU.scp` 2nd Script #! /bin/sh . /opt/home/hssadmin/cindy/formatxml.env cd... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: AudreyEliza
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Looking for awk code explaination

{ # print NF,NR,$0; if ( ($(NF-1) != 0) && ($NF != 0) ) {if ($(NF-1) > $NF) {percent=$(NF-1)/$NF-1;} else {percent=$NF/$(NF-1)-1;} } printf "%8.4f\%\n",percent*100; if (percent > 0.05||percent < -0.05 ){exit 1;} }' Use code tags please, ty. Also try to use a more... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bosmat shani
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk print behavior weird