Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Run ps aux continuously in AIX Post 302838969 by zaxxon on Wednesday 31st of July 2013 03:03:44 AM
Old 07-31-2013
The problem with ps is, that it will show the average CPU-usage since the start of the process. So if it runs already several days and you get a nasty peak for let's say 30 minutes, this will not have the value for CPU-usage rise noticably or maybe even at all.

We had a discussion about this here:
Using "ps" command to find high processes

and this could be a way to try:
Problem with nmon, actual CPU usage per process

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

PS -aux and PS

I am new to the Unix. Can someone tell me what is the difference between 'PS' command and 'PS -aux"? Isn't 'PS' mean the current running process? Isn't 'PS -aux' mean the current running process too? If they are the same, how come 'PS -aux' always has a lot more listing than 'PS'? Thanks, (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: a2715mt
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ps aux|grep getty

what is the aim of this command: ps aux|grep getty (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gfhgfnhhn
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Run a script continuously for 10 minutes

Hi all!! Im using ksh and my OS is Linux. I want to run a script for ten minutes, starting from my current system time. How to acheive this? Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jayaraman
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to get the list of file with size in AUX

to get the list of file name with size Example: rwxrwxrwx 1 cm x 562KB Nov 6 19:22 a rwxrwxrwx 1 cm x 562MB Nov 6 19:22 a edit by bakunin: Please view this code tag video for how to use code tags when posting code and data. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jewel
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

ps aux + grep + nice + while