Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Question in bash script.
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Question in bash script. Post 302838555 by Skrynesaver on Tuesday 30th of July 2013 03:45:22 AM
Old 07-30-2013
If you just want to avoid duplicating the string you would add with your script...
Code:
egrep "$value" $file || echo "$value" >> $file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

BASH shell script question

I want to make shell script that takes a list of host names on my network as command line arguments and displays whether the hosts are up or down, using the ping command to display the status of a host and a for loop to process all the host names. Im new to shell scripting so Im not quite sure... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ewarmour
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

one question for bash shell script

Just one question for bash shell script. In bash script, you can use *.txt to call any files in current folder that ends with .txt, like rm *.txt will remove all txt file in current folder. My question is can you actually remember or use the file name among *.txt, I know file=*.txt will not... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: zx1106
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

BASH script question

Hi, I want to create a script that gets a filename as an argument. The script should generate a listing in long list format of the current directory, sorted by file size. This list must be written to a new file by the filename given on the command line. Can someone help me with this? ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: I-1
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash script question

Can anybody be kind to explaing me what the lines below mean ? eval line=$line export $line ] || echo $line (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jville
2 Replies

5. Solaris

bash shell send script question