Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Tru to print the last name and first name using key word Post 302835535 by jakemathew on Monday 22nd of July 2013 03:03:58 PM
Old 07-22-2013
Tru to print the last name and first name using key word

I am new to shell scripting and trying to do the below

Code:
Stan:Smith:Detroit:MI
Jim:Jones:Farmington Hills:MI
Jack:Frost:Denver:CO
Sue:Apple:New York:NY
Cindy:Thompson:Battle Creek:MI
John:Smith:Denver:CO
George:Jones:New York:NY

Need to create a shell script This script will display the following information in a menu format:
Code:
                        L - Print Last Names
                        F - Print First Names
                        C - Print First Name, Last Name sorted by city
                        S - Print First Name, Last Name, State sorted by state
                        Q - Exit the program

The script will perform all of the actions listed above on your file and loop until Q key is pressed.

[COLOR="#738fbf"]---------- Post updated at 03:03 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:00 PM ----------[/color

I did the below but not working...

Code:
loop=y
while [ "$loop" = y ]
do
clear
tput cup 3 12; echo "P - Print Last Name"
tput cup 10 9; echo "Q - Quit: "
tput cup 10 19;
read choice || continue
case $choice in
[Pp]) less ~/export/home/mathews/homework2;;
[Qq]) exit ;;
*) tput cup 14 4; echo "Invalid Code"; read choice ;;
esac
done

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment code tags for code please, not font, not color

Last edited by Corona688; 07-22-2013 at 04:24 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Searching for key word within a file