Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Shell Script for displaying the line till the target word Post 302834839 by Kalaiselvi66 on Saturday 20th of July 2013 06:05:54 AM
Old 07-20-2013
Hi Bartus11,

i am very new to unix,so could you please explain me how to run the script which you have mentioned? i am running this query in putty and tried like:
Code:
-sh 's/([^ \047]*wrk)(\047,)?.*/^^^^^$1^^^^^$2/' myfilename..

but am getting error as "-bash: -sh: command not found "...Could u plz help me

---------- Post updated at 04:05 AM ---------- Previous update was at 04:01 AM ----------

Could any1 help me in the below requirement:
Am having a text file having the content as:file.txt
Code:
a
b
c
d
e

i have understand the "sed" command.

but i am not getting how to use it in a loop.

For ex:
Code:
sed 's/a/&&&a&&&/' file.txt

-->output wil be &&&a&&&.
but i want the output as:
Code:
&&&aaa&&&
&&&bbb&&&

like tis

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Scott; 07-25-2013 at 11:41 AM.. Reason: Code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can a shell script pull the first word (or nth word) off each line of a text file?

Greetings. I am struggling with a shell script to make my life simpler, with a number of practical ways in which it could be used. I want to take a standard text file, and pull the 'n'th word from each line such as the first word from a text file. I'm struggling to see how each line can be... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: tricky
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to parse a line and insert a word

Hi All, I have a file like this, data1,data2,,,data5,data6. i want to write a shell script to replace data3 with "/example/string". which means my data file should look like this . data1,data2,example/string],,data5,data6. Could you guys help me to get a sed command or any other command... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: girish.raos
8 Replies