Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Split file based on records
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Split file based on records Post 302831835 by vidyadhar85 on Friday 12th of July 2013 02:30:34 AM
Old 07-12-2013
Can you give your exact requirements?

Whats the exact string?
What and how will u decide its header or trailer?
How many records in per file? if you go for 2 records per file for 30GB file you end up consuming all inum Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort & Split records in a file

Hi, I am new to scripting. I need a script to sort and the records in a file and then split them into different files. For example, the file is: H1...................... H2...................... D2.................... D2.................... H1........................... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sunitha_edi82
15 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Filtering records of a file based on a value of a column

Hi all, I would like to extract records of a file based on a condition. The file contains 47 fields, and I would like to extract only those records that match a certain value in one of the columns, e.g. COL1 COL2 COL3 ............... COL47 1 XX 45 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: risk_sly
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Based on num of records in file1 need to check records in file2 to set some condns

Hi All, I have two files say file1 and file2. I want to check the number of records in file1 and if its atleast 2 (i.e., 2 or greater than 2 ) then I have to check records in file2 .If records in file2 is atleast 1 (i.e. if its not empty ) i have to set some conditions . Could you pls... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mavesum
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to split multiple records file in n files