Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Bash and sed compatibility
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash and sed compatibility Post 302830741 by Corona688 on Tuesday 9th of July 2013 11:49:51 AM
Old 07-09-2013
Sed is not 'incompatible' with single or double quotes. Quotes no longer exist by the time sed gets the string. They do alter the interpretation of the string -- as you can see when it spits it back out in the error. It's putting it all on one line.

I think you need to remove the backslashes \ separating lines. Multi-line strings are actually valid in Bourne shell, but putting the backslashes there (inside double quotes) tells it to cram it all in one single line.

Single quotes, which escape nothing ever, just put in literal backslashes and split it across lines anyway.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

using sed on bash variables (or maybe awk?)

Hi all- I've been fooling with this for a few days, but I'm rather new at this... I have a bash variable containing a long string of various characters, for instance: JUNK=this that the other xyz 1234 56 789 I don't know what "xyz" actually is, but I know that: START=he other and ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rev66
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

BASH -- sed -- variable

Hi, I'm new at bash scripting -- can anyone here help me about the sed command? I need to be able to edit and or delete a text from an outside file ie file.txt -- I'm passing a variable and not a string I was thinking of something like echo -n "What do you want to edit?: " read edit sed... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Imajean
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

$ in sed under tcsh vs bash