Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Solaris 10 Learning Path
Operating Systems Solaris Solaris 10 Learning Path Post 302830661 by sanz.rigo on Tuesday 9th of July 2013 09:25:51 AM
Old 07-09-2013
Solaris 10 Learning Path

Hello, Im fairly new to the UNIX world. Although I have taken Linux admin classes, it's not enough compared on what you do at your job. I just got a new job and they want me to learn Solaris, I got some good books and I started to read, I run the commands and try to follow some basics examples. Problem is that I feel that's not enough to learn, I need to be able to break things down and put them back to work (I have Solaris on a VB and a real server at work to play with).

I'd like to ask what projects or learning paths should I take to start learning Solaris, Someone recommended to do a file server, but I'd like to know what else it's involved with the creation of it (to make it functional). Does anybody have any special projects for me to work on, that will help me to learn Solaris? ALl the books and the documentation doesn't really suggest any projects for learning.

Any help will be much appreciated!!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

path name for Solaris 8 ?

hello all, instead of type pwd everytime to find down where I am at. is there a command set prompt to put in to your profile on shell so it invisible every you type cd? thanks in advance... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: phapvn
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris 8 Font Path ...

Hello, I feel a little initimidated to ask this question, but ... where am I able to find the font path (Solaris 8)? Bye Sysadv (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sysadv
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Solaris Learning Materials

I'm new to Solaris. Please let me know, where can i find good, explaining and easy learning tutorials in web. Thanks in Advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: moorthy123
2 Replies