Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Compare two xml files
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare two xml files Post 302828241 by DeepaT on Tuesday 2nd of July 2013 05:13:46 AM
Old 07-02-2013
Comapre two xml files

Thanks millan for your reply.
I have tried the given command , comm -23 a.xml b.xml | sed '1d' is not working for me. I think comm command 1st sort the file.The xml which I have pasted is just a sample. Actually the requirement is to compare the file which may contain the long text.
Code:
<application> abc </application>
<type>twetrwerwer</type>
<type1>werwerwerrftr</type1>

I am new to scripting world. Can I compare the files line by line, and while parsing them I want to always print the text which is there in 'application' tag & inderneath all the differences.
File is huge & it contains multiple 'application' tags.

Last edited by Franklin52; 07-02-2013 at 08:27 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

compare XML/flat file with UNIX file system structure

Before i start doing something, I wanted to know whether the approach to compare XML file with UNIX file system structure. I have a pre-configured file(contains a list of paths to executables) and i need to check against the UNIX directory structure. what are the various approches should i use ? I... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: shafi2all
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Require compare command to compare 4 files

I have four files, I need to compare these files together. As such i know "sdiff and comm" commands but these commands compare 2 files together. If I use sdiff command then i have to compare each file with other which will increase the codes. Please suggest if you know some commands whcih can... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: nehashine
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Shell Script to compare xml files and print output to a file