Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? How to switch from SVR4/BSD internals to Linux internals? Post 302814011 by figaro on Tuesday 28th of May 2013 02:34:15 PM
Old 05-28-2013
Why is your employer not in favor of putting you on a relevant Linux course? Can you make the case to him/her that you would like to develop yourself into other areas, while still staying on for the legacy tasks, thereby making you more valuable for the firm?
Is there any point in asking to make a lateral move within the firm?
The other option I can think of is participating in an open source project with enough critical mass to also get noticed by future employers. It would also be a way to get in touch with like-minded developers who might give you advice on where else to look.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. New to Unix. Which books should I read?

UniX internals Material

Hi! I have 1.5 years experience in unix environment and shell scripting. Now, I started learning UNIX internals and network programming. Can you please help in finding the same material on the net Thanks Srinivas. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: srinivaskathika
7 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

on unix internals

will anybody tell me how can i access all the fields of process table .if there is any structure and a system call please specify . (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vish_shan
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

HP-UX Internals Book

. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Driver
2 Replies

4. Programming

UNIX Internals, Help required...

I know UNIX user level commands, shell scripts. But i have no idea about kernel level programming and networking. I know the terms semaphore,IPC,socket programming. But i don't know in details what are these. I need to know the following. 1. Unix kernel level programming. 2. Unix Internals. 3.... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: digdarshan
4 Replies

5. Linux

Kernel internals for ARM