Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Match Pattern after certain pattern and Print words next to Pattern Post 302813695 by 100bees on Tuesday 28th of May 2013 02:25:12 AM
Old 05-28-2013
Match Pattern after certain pattern and Print words next to Pattern

Hi experts , im new to Unix,AWK ,and im just not able to get this right.
I need to match for some patterns if it matches I need to print the next few words to it.. I have only three such conditions to match… But I need to print only those words that comes after satisfying the first condition.. iez..
Though before LLL SSS I have TTT , I need to print only the ones that comes after LLL SSS to AAA RRR ,and again when I encounter LLL SSS need to do the same , I have tried declaring a awk flag variable, but it doesn’t seem to work. Kindly help me.

Code:
var1="LLL";var2="SSS";var3="TTT";var4="AAA";var5="RRR";
awk -v flag=1 '{
for (m=1;m<=NF;m++)
if($m~m/'$var1'/ && $(m+1)~/'$var2'/)
print "ABCD: ", $(m+2),$(m+3),$(m+4)
{flag=0};
else {
if {flag==0 && $m~/'var3'/)
print "EFG : ", $(m+1);
else { 
if (flag==0 && $m~/'$var4'/ && $(m+1)~/'var5'/)
print "HIJ: ",$(m+2),$(m+3) 
{flag=1}; 
}
}
}
}' flineame

My file is something like this:

Code:
AAA RRR H I
DDDD OOO HI J UGC RR
TTT YYY
LLLLL IIIIII
LLL SSS A B C D
N
DDDD TTT EFG
BBB AAA RRR J K
HHHHHH RRRRRR 
LLL SSS E H G H
N
DDDD TTT EFG
UUUUU BBB AAA RRR J K

Last edited by Scott; 05-28-2013 at 03:32 AM.. Reason: Added code tags; removed formatting

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

I am trying to find pattern between two words but unable to get that pattern..

HI.... It's fallow up file .. #./show.sh click enter button.. i am gettng the fallowup file. its keep on running every time why because there are lots of users working on it. In that file i want to search pattern between two words for ex: SELECT DISTINCT... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ksr.test
7 Replies