Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need to understand a couple of Shell Logic Post 302805587 by Yoda on Friday 10th of May 2013 11:51:01 AM
Old 05-10-2013
To understand for loop refer: Bash For Loop

To understand $# refer: Special Shell Variables

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

I need to understand the differences between the bash shell and the Bourne shell

I do not claim to be an expert, but I have done things with scripts that whole teams of folks have said can not be done. Of course they should have said we do not have the intestinal fortitude to git-r-done. I have been using UNIX actually HPUX since 1992. Unfortunately my old computer died and... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: awk_sed_hello
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Understand a old unix shell script

Hi All, I have a unix old script i but i am not able to understand the few commands in it and what it does. below is the script. if ; then for F in $(find $DIR/. ! -name . -prune -name "DP_*.dat") do IN=${F##/*/} OUT='ORD'$(echo $IN | cut -c7-) exec.ksh $IN... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kam786sim
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Difficulty with a couple commands porting from korn shell to bash

I am relatively new to shell scripting. I have a script I wrote that works fine in korn shell. I need to make it work in bash on a different server. There are a couple valid korn shell commands I am having difficulty finding the bash equivalents for. At one point the scripts prompts the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: inakajin
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script using expect to login to couple of remote servers and read "crontab -l"