Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Boy, is the shell powerful.
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Boy, is the shell powerful. Post 302803255 by wisecracker on Monday 6th of May 2013 10:23:13 AM
Old 05-06-2013
Boy, is the shell powerful.

Reading replies to questions, as an amateur, I have learnt a lot from you pros on here.
The shell in any of its guises is serioulsy poweful.

With so many transient and resident commands at one's disposal is there anything,
non-GUI, that cannot be done inside a default shell and terminal?

Why bother with Python, (I do like Python BTW), or even ANSI C, or any other language
for that matter...

The more I get into the Scope the more impressed I am with shell scripting...

So to you pros, I say thanks, just by searching and observing this site alone I have
learnt a great deal...

Although Debian and PCLinuxOS were my main OSes, (still used daily), OSX 10.7.5 has
now taken its place for my dev' work. Vista - UGH!, and Windows 7 are usd by my wife
and only by me for WinUAE and anything Python wise that is platform independent and
needs testing...

Once again chaps and chapesses, your knowlegde on shell stuff makes me feel - oh - so -
amateur... ;oD

3 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. OS X (Apple)

Is Mac OS X Server Really Powerful?

Look We all know that Linux is almost BulletProof and about 40% faster than Win2K3 Server, When running Oracle DB, Right? Now my Question is can OS X run just as Well as Linux as a Server being PowerPC and Whatever, Can it be just as stable? Now You Tell me, Which is most Practical: Linux... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RedVenim
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Any way to make scp more powerful?