Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to Execute command and mail results Post 302802997 by patrickminas on Sunday 5th of May 2013 04:49:39 PM
Old 05-05-2013
I am not worried about the mail command. I want to run a command and send it's results/output by mail.
For example i want to run the command "df -h" every hour and send it's results by mail.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to run shell command and insert results to existing xml file

Hi. Thanks for any help with this. I'm not new to programming but I am new to shell programming. I need a script that will 1. execute 'df -k' and return the volume names with specific text 2. surround each line of the above results in opening and closing xml tags 3. insert the results of step... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: littlejon
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to execute a sh command from a csh script

Hi everyone, I have a csh script that works fine but the output of an rsh command is different if I use boune shell instead cshell. Is there the possibility to execute only this command in bourne shell from a script declared cshell? Thanks Christian (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bonovox
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Backing out of a script if command doesn't return any results?

Hello I have a script which emails identifies the user ID of a user and sends them an email. A user can enter part of the name of the person he/wants to send the email to. Then I use the ypcat command to identify the UID of that person. The problem I'm having, is building in an error trap... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Glyn_Mo
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How can I execute the results of a pipe?