Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Splitting fixed length file using awk Post 302802305 by Neelkanth on Friday 3rd of May 2013 08:52:03 AM
Old 05-03-2013
superb..
thanks a lot..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

fixed length fields in awk

I am trying to display df -h command out in proper format, how can I display each field of each record in a fixed length. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: roopla
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk with fixed length files

Hi Unix Champs, I want to awk on a fixed length file. Instead if the file was a delimited file, then I could have used -F and then could have easily done manipulation on the fields. How do i do the same in case of fixed length file? Thanks in Advance. Regards. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: c2b2
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk - Working with fixed length files

OK I am somewhat new to UNIX programming please see what you can do to help. I have a flat file that is a fixed length file containing different records based on the 1st character of each line. The 1st number at the beginning of the line is the record number, in this case it's record #1. I... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ambroze
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What the command to find out the record length of a fixed length file?

I want to find out the record length of a fixed length file? I forgot the command. Any body know? (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: tranq01
9 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Convert a tab delimited/variable length file to fixed length file

Hi, all. I need to convert a file tab delimited/variable length file in AIX to a fixed lenght file delimited by spaces. This is the input file: 10200002<tab>US$ COM<tab>16/12/2008<tab>2,3775<tab>2,3783 19300978<tab>EURO<tab>16/12/2008<tab>3,28523<tab>3,28657 And this is the expected... (2 Replies)