Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed insert new line does not update file Post 302802235 by mstafreshi on Friday 3rd of May 2013 06:44:42 AM
Old 05-03-2013
your file has at least 12 lines ?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED: Update Last Line with Number Lines in File

Hi, I have to update last line of a text file with the number of lines in that file. This last line will have text such as 0.0000 and I should replace this with number lines. If lines are 20 then it should be replaced with 00020. Any sed or awk cmd help would be appreciated (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bmkux
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed - how to insert chars into a line

Hi I'm new to sed, and need to add characters into a specific location of a file, the fileds are tab seperated. text <tab> <tab> text <tab> text EOL I need to add more characters to the line to look like this: text <tab> <tab> newtext <tab> text <tab> text EOL Any ideas? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tangentviper
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed insert text at first line of empty file

I can't seem to get sed to allow me to insert text in the first line of an empty file. I have a file.txt that is a 0 byte file. I want sed to insert " fooBar" onto the first line. I've tried a few options and nothing seems to work. They work just fine if there's text in the file tho. Help? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: DC Slick
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using sed to insert text file at first line

sed '1r file.txt' <source.txt >desti.txt This example will insert 'file.txt' between line 1 and 2 of source.txt. sed '0r file.txt' <source.txt >desti.txt gives an error message. Does anyone know how 'sed' can insert 'file.txt' before the first line of source.txt? (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: psve
18 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert/Update using sed